2011 PEN Literary Awards Winners

Gabe Habash -- August 12th, 2011

The PEN American Center announced the winners of this year’s PEN Awards, the 89th the organization has handed out. Of the 17 award categories, three are offered for the first time and one–the PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay–returns after a five-year hiatus.

PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize (Fiction):

Susanna Daniel, Stiltsville

Danielle Evans, Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self

Runner-up: Teddy Wayne, Kapitoil

PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award (Literary nonfiction with a science subject):

Siddhartha Mukherjee, The Emperor of Maladies

Runner-up: David Abram, Becoming Animal

PEN/W.G. Sebald Award for a Fiction Writer in Mid-Career (winner must have published at least three works):

Aleksandar Hemon

PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction (presented biennially):

Robert Perkinson, Texas Tough: The Rise of America’s Prison Empire

Runner-up: John W. Dower, Cultures of War: Pearl Harbor / Hiroshima / 9-11 / Iraq

Runner-up: Isabel Wilkerson, The Warmth of Other Suns

PEN/Laura Pels Foundation Awards for an American Playwright in Mid-Career and a Master American Dramatist:

American Playwright in Mid-Career: Marcus Gardley

Master American Dramatist: David Henry Hwang

PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay:

Mark Slouka, Essays from the Nick of Time: Reflections and Refutations

Runner-up: Elif Batuman, The Possessed: Adventures with Russian Books and the People Who Read Them

Runner-up: Alex Ross, Listen to This

PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing:

George Dohrmann, Play Their Hearts Out

PEN/ESPN Lifetime Achievement Award for Literary Sports Writing:

Roger Angell

PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography:

Stacy Schiff, Cleopatra: A Life

Runner-up: Wendy Moffat, A Great Unrecorded History: A New Life of E.M. Forster

Runner-up: Justin Spring, Secret Historian: The Life and Times of Samuel Steward

PEN/Joyce Osterweil Award for Poetry:

Ishion Hutchinson, Far District

PEN/Nora Magid Award (Magazine Editor):

Brigid Hughes, founding editor of A Public Space

PEN/Open Book Award (Work of literature by an author of color):

Manu Joseph, Serious Men

Runner-up: John Murillo, Up Jump the Boogie

PEN/Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship (Children’s or young adult fiction, who has published at least two books, and for whom monetary support is particularly needed to complete a book-in-progress):

Lucy Frank, Two Girls Staring at the Ceiling

PEN Award for Poetry in Translation:

Khaled Mattawa, Adonis: Selected Poems

Runner-up: Jonathan Galassi, Canti by Giacomo Leopardi

Runner-up: Michael Hofmann, Angina Days by Gunter Eich

Runner-up: Charles Simic, Oranges and Snow by Milan Djordjević

PEN Translation Prize

Ibrahim Muhawi, Journal of an Ordinary Grief by Mahmoud Darwish

Runner-up: David Bellos, Hocus Pocus by Romain Gary, publishing as Émile Ajar

Runner-up: Malcolm C. Lyons with Ursula Lyons, The Arabian Nights: Tales of 1001 Nights

PEN Translation Fund Grants (to support translation of book-length works):

Amiri Ayanna, The St. Katharinental Sister Book: Lives of the Sisters of the Dominican Convent at Diessenhofen (from Middle High German)

Neil Blackadder, The Test (Good Simon Korach), a play by Swiss dramatist and novelist Lukas Bärfuss (from German)

Clarissa Botsford, Sworn Virgin, a novel by Albanian writer and filmmaker Elvira Dones (from Italian)

Steve Bradbury, Salsa, a collection of poems by Taiwanese poet Hsia Yü (from Chinese)

Annmarie S. Drury, collection of poems by Tanzanian poet Euphrase Kezilahabi (from Swahili)

Diane Nemec Ignashev, Paranoia, a novel by Belarusian author Viktor Martinovich (from Russian)

Chenxin Jiang, Memories of the Cowshed, a memoir by Chinese author Ji Xianlin (from Chinese)

Hilary B. Kaplan, Rilke Shake, a collection of poetry by Brazilian writer Angélica Freitas (from Portuguese)

Catherine Schelbert, Flametti, or the Dandyism of the Poor, a novel by German writer Hugo Ball (from German)

Joel Streicker, Birds in the Mouth, a collection of short stories by Argentine writer Samanta Schweblin (from Spanish)

Sarah L. Thomas, Turnaround, a literary thriller by Spanish writer Mar Goméz Glez (from Spanish)

PEN Emerging Writers Award:

Fiction Winner: Smith Henderson (nominated by Hannah Tinti of One Story)

Fiction Runner-up: Elliott Holt (nominated by Joel Whitney of Guernica)

Nonfiction Winner: David Stuart MacLean (nominated by Ladette Randolph of Ploughshares)

Nonfiction Runner-up:Chester Phillips (nominated by Hattie Fletcher of Creative Nonfiction

Poetry Winner: Adam Day (nominated by Erica Wright of Guernica)

Poetry Runner-up: Brett Fletcher Lauer (nominated by Robert Casper of jubilat)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>